Chairman of County Councils of Defense

County Council Members

Andrews, C.B.
Atkins, W.S.
Bevens, Edwin
Bloodworth, C.T.
Brown, W.W.
Browning, J.K.
Burke, F.N.
Burrow, P.L.
Carroll, J.W.
Carson, J.F.
Casey, S.M.,
Cole, W.D., Jr.
Compton, R.T.
Condray, C.E.
Cooley, H.M.
Curry, Jack,
Dillion, J.P.
DuLaney, A.D.
Duncan, S.K.
Dunlap, D. Ward
Eberts, H.F.H.
Elbert, Godwin
Elsken, Conrad
Emory, Houston
Fairfield, A.B.
Galloway, W.E.
Garrett, Lon
Garvin, F.M.
Gates, J.M.
Gillespie, C.E.
Guthrie, L.M.
Hampton, John R.
Hardage, Joe
Harville, R.T.
Henry, G.A., Dr.
Hudspeth, A.T.
Jernigan, A.W.
Johnson, Smith A.
Johnson, C.G.
Johnson, W.H.
Killgore, A.S.
Killough, O.N.
Ladd, E.P.
Langley, S.S.
Lewis, A.T.
Lindsey, J.H., Dr.
Longley, N.A.
Mahony, Joe
Mann, S.H.
Mason, J.E.
McKnight, J.S.
McMasters, T.E.
Meiser, Eli
Metcalf, J.R.
Milwee, R.F.
Moore, J.W.
Morley, K.G.
Norman, George
Parker, E.A.
Payne, W.B.
Pettigrew, T.A.
Ponder, H.L.
Rainwater, Loid
Rector, George L.
Reed, Howard
Rowell, A.H.
Russel, R.H.
Sain, J.G.
Scott, P.D.
St. John, V.W.
Stayton, Jos. M.
Stewart, W.D.
Streett, W.G.
Sullivan, Arthur
Thompson, R.R.
Thorn, H.B.
Ward, J.B.
Whyte, H.R.
Williams, C.X.
Wilson, J.R.
Winham, Allen
Womble, W.E.

Arkansas State Council of Defense Members

Brough, Charles H., Governor of Arkansas
Townsend, Wallace, Director

State Council Members

Bond, John L.
Brasher, Walter G.
Calvert, C.C.
Couch, Harvey C.
Dean, J.W.
England, Lloyd,
Frauenthal, Ida
Futrall, John C.
Futrall, Junius M.
Garrison, Charles W., Dr.
Gibbons, John R.
Hamp, Williams
Harper, Clio
Hemingway, John H.
Hemingway, W.L.
House, Joseph W., Jr.
Pace, Frank
Reaves, E.T.
Remmel, Harmon L.
Speed, J. Smith
Sprague, W.G.
Taylor, Chas. E.
Townsend, Wallace
Trieber, Jacob Judge
Vinsonhaler, Frank, Dr.
Vision, J.R.
Whipple, Durand Major
Wright, Hamp

Colored Auxiliary Council Members

Jones, Scipio A., State Chairman
Bush, A.E., Executive Secretary
McConico, J.H., Assistant Chairman

County Chairmen

Anderson, J.R.
Avant, Lee
Barrow, R.C.
Black, Picken W.
Blount, Josiah H.
Bobo, M.W.
Bond, Scott
Booker, J.A,
Boone, F.D.
Bowie, H.H.
Boyd, S.T.
Brock, S.P.
Brown, R.B.
Bush, A.E.
Campbell, J.N.
Carolina, H.E., Mrs.
Carry, E.H.
Clarke, A.T., Mrs.
Connor, J.M., Bishop
Crump, A.B.
Daniels, W.T.
Davis, E.F.
Dorman, Percy Lipton
Elliott, H.T., Mrs.
Erkelberger, J.W.
Ezell, E.L., Dr.
Ford, J.F., Dr.
Garrison, P.A.
Gilliam, Isaac
Grissom, R.
Hamilton, N.W.
Hampton, W.S.
Hildreth, S.D.
Hill, Jefferson
Holt, W.S.
Hoover, Sam
Hughes, D.W.
Jacko, W.B.
Johnson, C.S.
Johnson, R.T.
Johnson, C.S., Mrs.
Johnson, Ven., Reverend
Jones, G.V.
Jones, D.W.
Jones, C.H.
Jones, W.W.
Jordan, P.H.
King, C.H.
Lee, John B.
Lewis, Harrison
Lytes, F.T., Dr.
Marquess, A.A., Dr.
McCoaico, J.H.
McGee, A.
Money, E.J., Dr.
Moore, George H.
Morris, E.C.
Odom, E.B., Dr.
Price, P.H.
Pullman, J.W., Dr.
Robinson, J.P., Dr.
Rosco, Lewis
Sanefur, T.S.
Saxton, George P.
Scull, J.H., Reverend
Swayze, R.B.
Townsend, William
Wallace, D.C.
Walls, J.W.
Warren, J.T.
Waterford, A.W.
Woods, H.Y.
Yerger, Henry Clay

Correspondence from the Council of National Defense, 1918 October 8

The National Council of Defense sent a letter to the Southern State Division of the Woman’s Committee letting them know that the National Council did not want a separate organization for black women as was done for white women.  The National Council felt that if a separate organization were formed, that it would put an overemphasis on black people

Source: Arkansas State Council of Defense, MS.000490, ASA_CouncilDefense_MS490_08_20_08, Arkansas State Archives, Little Rock, Arkansas

Rights: Use and reproduction of images held by the Arkansas State Archives without prior written permission is prohibited. For information on reproducing images held by the Arkansas State Archives, please call 501-682-6900 or email at


“Scipio Jones to Give 200 to War Fund Drive,” Arkansas Democrat

The Arkansas Democrat, 1918 November 8, states that Scipio Jones was giving $200 of his own money to the war fund drive on top of what he had already given. Scipio Jones was an influential black attorney and community leader that served as the State Chairman of the Colored Auxiliary Council where he was tasked with organizing and running the council’s agenda.

Rights: Fair Use” copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code,
Sections 107-118) which allows for the reproduction of the copyrighted material “for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship or research.” (17 U.S.C. Section 107) Any use of these materials for commercial purposes or in excess of Title 17 Section 107 will be subject to the law for copyright infringement.